Soundtrack Blog Soundtrack Reviews Soundtrack Features Soundtrack Forum Soundtrack Contest Soundtrack Shop About and Contact Home Listen or subscribe to our podcast - The SoundCast Follow us on Twitter Like us at Facebook Tracksounds:  The Film Music and Soundtrack Experience

QUICK-CLICK REVIEWS (Vol. 25)

Apocalypse World War II
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Music from the Batman Trilogy
The Possession

FULL  SOUNDTRACK REVIEWS

Snowpiercer
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Captain America:  The Winter Soldier
Rio 2

POPULAR FEATURES

2015 Cue Awards Show
In-Context- Guardians of the Galaxy

Interview: Jeff Russo
In-Context- Dawn/Planet of the Apes
Interview: Neil S. Bulk

LATEST PODCAST EPISODES

Twitter Response Show 1 (Ep 4)
The State of the Film Music Theme
The James Horner Legacy
2015 Cue Awards ReactionShow
2015 Cue Awards Show

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 


 

 

2008 Music Preview - Quarter 3 (July)
A Look Ahead at this Summer's Soundtracks

 

Quarter 1 | January | February | March
Quarter 2 | April | May | June

Quarter 3 | July | August | September

 

Feature Films 2008

Hancock

Hancock
by John Powell
Opens: July 2, 2008

Jig Willie is back where he belongs in 2008 - on the big screen in July.  Actually, he has diversified pretty well since becoming a mainstay of summer-moviedom, but it's nice to see him return for another summer spectacle.  He finally reaches full "superhero" status in HANCOCK (formerly known as Tonight, He Comes).  Peter Berg, who directed last year's THE KINGDOM, is helming the project.  My first hunch was that this would be a Danny Elfman deal, but he's got his hands full with Hell Boy 2 and Wanted.  The announcement that HANCOCK would be scored by JOHN POWELL, only raises expectations on this one.  Powell seems poised for having another "outstanding composer of the year" sort of years.

Anticipation level: high

The Dark Knight

The Dark Knight
by Hans Zimmer and James Newton-Howard
Opens: July 18, 2008

Perhaps the most-anticipated film of the Summer, THE DARK KNIGHT, reunites two of Hollywood's own super-composers:  ZIMMER and HOWARD.  If expectations weren't high enough, the untimely death of Heath Ledger (The Joker) has brought even more attention and maybe expectation on director Christopher Nolan's sequel.  While some found the score for BATMAN BEGINS less than stellar, I said "Holy Dynamic Duo!  Zimmer and Howard have pulled it off!"  I have confidence that THE DARK KNIGHT will measure up, if not exceed the last score.

Anticipation level: high

Hellboy 2:  The Golden Army

Hellboy 2:  The Golden Army
by Danny Elfman
Opens: July 11, 2008

Danny Elfman did what he could for the insanely over-hyped Spider-man series and now moves on to pick up the reigns from Marco Beltrami with the sequel to HELLBOY.  Admittedly, I have never become a big Guillermo del Toro or Elfman fan, but if I base anything off the teaser trailer for HELLBOY 2: THE GOLDEN ARMY, I have to also admit, that there is some promise that this sequel will outdo the mediocre first.  Still, my expectations are reserved on both counts.

Journey to the Center of the Earth (3D)

Journey to the Center of the Earth (3D)
by Andrew Lockington
Opens: July 11, 2008

I caught the trailer for this 3D reprise of the classic, Jules Verne tale, in front of BEOWULF 3D, and my eyes were still trying to figure out that...they didn't have to figure out anything and needed to just relax.  Of course the essence of the story is the same, but it will be a new experience in 3D.  With it being in 3D the obvious emphasis is going to be on the visuals over all else.  ANDREW LOCKINGTON,  a relatively unknown composer in the USA, is slated to be writing the score.  His surprisingly diverse work for last year's SKINWALKERS, leaves room for some hope here.

Meet Dave

Meet Dave
by John Debney
Opens: July 11, 2008

Eddie Murphy returns.  All I can say is that if I see just one more film with the word "Meet" as the first word of the title, I will jump off the nearest cliff.  Well, at least here we aren't meeting "the parents," the Spartans," "the Browns,"  "the Fockers," or "the Robinsons."  Just one person, Dave.  Or is it?  Composer John Debney has done a million of these types of Summer-comedies and I fear he'll be on auto-pilot here.  And who could blame him.

Anticipation level: low

Space Chimps

Space Chimps
by Blue Man Group
Opens: July 18, 2008

This 3D-animated film hasn't gotten much attention yet.  The story revolves around two chimps that NASA sends into space...they end up at some distant world, where the inhabitants need saving, only to find a giant arm and torch sticking out of the ground....oh wrong movie, but the first part of the description is correct.  What may end up being the most intriguing thing about this flick is that the enigmatic, BLUE MAN GROUP is slated to provide the score.  While contributing to TV shows and even utilized by John Powell in ROBOTS, this is, as far as I know, their first feature film.  Intriguing...but not expecting a ton.

X-Files 2

X-Files 2
by Unknown
Opens: July 25, 2008

The show the made you doubt everything is coming back for a second go at the big screen.  If the official title hasn't been released yet, you can be sure that details on the film itself are going to be sketchy at best.  One detail yet revealed is whether or not Mark Snow will be returning to provide the score.  It would seem the logical and best choice, but until such announcement, I'm keeping expectations on the down-side.

Video Games 2008

 September

Too Human

Too Human (X360)
 

Composer: Steven S. Henifin
Game release date: July 29

Steven Henifin has provided music for Silicon Kinghts games such as:  Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes, Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem, and Blood Omen: Legacy of Kain and once again is the audio director for one of 2008's most anticipated games:  TOO HUMAN.  The score is reported to include a 42 piece orchestra and 32 voice choir + plus strong use of period percussion instruments.

Medium High

 

August 2008

 

Quarter 1 | January | February | March
Quarter 2 | April | May | June

Quarter 3 | July | August | September


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tracksounds 2008 Music Preview is just that - a preview.  Release dates are subject to change...as our composers attached to these projects.  The details found in the following are subject to change.  We'll endeavour to stay on top of such changes, but if you spot something out of date or incorrect, please notify me.

 

 

More Special Features

Interviews

Behind the Score: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow
Behind the Score: Killzone 3
Behind the Score: Assassin's Creed
Behind the Score: The Force Unleashed 2
Behind the Score: Lord of the Rings Films
Behind the Score: Lost Planet 2
Ponyo: Time to Get Pon-ed!
Tutti Tweet
Brotherhood of Duty
Scorefront
2007 Cue Awards
2008 Music Preview
Free and Legal
High Score
The Themes of Fall
Return of the Matrix
Music from the Films of Zhang Yimou
Faith and Film Music
Best Original Score of all Time
To Boldly Go

Gang-Tackle Soundtrack Reviews

Prometheus by Marc Streitenfeld
The Avengers by Alan Silvestri
Kung Fu Panda 2 by John Powell and Hans Zimmer
Thor by Patrick Doyle
Rio by John Powell



Double Soundtrack Reviews

Serenity / Firefly
Braveheart/ More Music from Braveheart
Gladiator/ More Music from Gladiator
Star Wars - Episode 1 - The Phantom Menace

The Grinch:  Battle for Christmas
The James Horner Compilation Showdown
Film Music From the East

 

Jeff Russo (2014)
Neil S. Bulk (2014)
Sean Callery (2014)
Trevor Morris (2014)
Oscar Araujo(2014)
Tom Salta (2013)
Jesper Kyd (2012)
Robert Duncan (2012)
Sam Hulick (2011)
Alan Menken (2010)

Mark Griskey (2010)
Tom Hajdu (TomandAndy) (2010)
Kevin Riepl (2010)
Jamie Christopherson (2010)
Tomoya Kishi & Marika Suzuki (2010)

Clinton Shorter (2009)
Brian Tyler (2009)

Ed Lima and Duncan Watt (2009)
Sean Murray (2008)

John Ottman (2008)
Inon Zur/ Stuart Chatwood (2008)
Jesse Harlin (2008)
Jeff Beal (2008)
Miho Nomura (2008)
Mark Griskey (2008)
Harry Gregson-Williams (2008) | (2005)
Jeff Rona (2008)
Hans Zimmer & James Newton Howard (2008)
Ramin Djawadi (2008)
E.S. Posthumus (2008)
Tyler Bates(2008)
 

Scorefront Profiles

Assaf Rinde
Stephen Harwood Jr.
Colin O'Malley
Duane Decker
Karl Preusser

David Buckley (2008)
Kaveh Cohen & Michael Nielsen (2008)
Christopher Lennertz (2008)
Sascha Dikiciyan & Cris Velasco (2007)
James Dooley (2007)
Jesper Kyd (2007)
Garry Schyman (2007)
David Robidoux (2007)
Scott Glasgow (2007)

Tyler Bates (2007)
Jamie Christopherson (2007)
Mychael Danna (2007)

Howard Shore (2006)
Trevor Rabin  (2006)
Christopher Lennertz (2006)
John Debney

Greg Edmonson
Ron Jones
Edward Shearmur
Thad Spencer
Hans Zimmer
Don Davis:  1 | 2
Michael Giacchino
Jeff Rona


 

   

 

Home  |  Soundtrack ReviewsBlog |  Podcast | News Forum  |  Features  |  About  |  Advertise  |  Links   | Shop  

YesAsia.com - Asian Entertainment products CD Universe - Music, Movies, & Games At Low Prices! iTunes Logo 88x31-1

Copyright 1998 - 2009. Tracksounds:  The Film Music Experience.   All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.  All compact disc artwork is property of the specified record label and appears here for informational purposes only.  All sound clips are in Real Audio format or mp3 and are the exclusive property of their respective record labels. Contact the Webmaster